Home » John by Niall Williams
John Niall Williams

John

Niall Williams

Published
ISBN : 9781596914674
Hardcover
288 pages
Enter the sum

 About the Book 

In the tradition of Jim Craces Quarantine and Anita Diamants The Red Tent, John is a stunning, lyrical reimagining of John the Apostle in the final years of his life, by the critically acclaimed and bestselling author of Four Letters of Love.At aMoreIn the tradition of Jim Craces Quarantine and Anita Diamants The Red Tent, John is a stunning, lyrical reimagining of John the Apostle in the final years of his life, by the critically acclaimed and bestselling author of Four Letters of Love.At a time when Americans remain skeptical about religion but still thirst for spiritual fulfillment, Niall Williamss extraordinary and masterful new novel reveals a universally appealing message of hope and love.In the years following the death of Jesus Christ, John the Apostle, now a frail, blind old man, lives in forced exile on the desolate island of Patmos with a small group of his disciples. Together, the group has endured their banishment, but after years awaiting Christs return, fissures form within their faith, and, inevitably, one of Johns followers disavows Christs divinity and breaks away from the community, threatening to change the course of Christianity. When the Roman emperor lifts the banishment of Christians, John and his followers are permitted to return to Ephesus, a chaotic world of competing religious sects where Christianity is in danger of vanishing. It is against this turbulent background--and inspired by Jesuss radical message of love and forgiveness--that John comes to dictate his Gospel.Immensely impressive--and based on actual historical events--John is at once an ambitious and provocative reimagining of the last surviving apostle and a powerful look at faith and how it lives and dies in the hearts of men.